Thursday, February 28, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 30 - The Displaced Person



Visions: of the peacock, the Priest, and Mrs. Shortly’s inner vision of refugees flooding in and displacing the Negros.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 29 - The Displaced Person



The mimetic mind: everything inspires a comparison – one’s own identity is always on the line.
The priest and the peacock.

Sunday, February 24, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 28 - The Displaced Person



The crisis of distinctions & the mimetic mind – living life out of the corner of one’s eye

Friday, February 22, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 27 - The Displaced Person



The arrival of the the displaced person – Mr. Guizac and his family, a refugee from the death camps in Poland, like Babette a refugee from history.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Monday, February 18, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 25 - The Displaced Person



Comparing of the central characters of "Babette’s Feast" and "The Displaced Person" continued...

Identity derived from the social order or an identity grounded in a transcendent reality

Saturday, February 16, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 24 - The Displaced Person



Comparison of the central characters in the stories "Babette's Feast" and "The Displaced Person"

Thursday, February 14, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 23 - The Displaced Person



A comparison of the initial images pressented in Dinesens's "Babette's Feast" and O'Connor's "The Displaced Person"

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 22 - Babette's Feast



Babette is the spirit of the church…

The master and the servant become the same person.

Was Babette a Pétroleuses?

Sunday, February 10, 2013

Friday, February 08, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 20 - Babette's Feast



“The vain illusions of this earth had dissolved before their eyes like smoke..”

“It costs not less than everything”

Wednesday, February 06, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 19 - Babette's Feast



To try to convey a tradition without having been changed by an experience of it is to betray it. Treason and tradition both come from the same root word.

Monday, February 04, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 18 - Babette's Feast



General Logenhiem’s speech, continued...finite or infinite grace. Mercy and truth, dear brethren, have met together; righteousness and bliss have kissed one another.

Saturday, February 02, 2013

From the Archives: Crucial Choice Part 17 - Babette's Feast



The grapes of Eshcol…providing a foretaste of the promised land is the purpose of the church